The tendency of replacing conventional classrooms by virtual ones

Hi everyone, please help me with this writing essay, I currently at band 6.0 and I am trying my best to achieve band score 7.0 in my writing test.

Some universities offered online courses as an alternative to classes delivered on campus.

Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In this day and age, with the advent of the Internet, the tendency which conventional classrooms have been supplanted by virtual ones comes as no surprise. Personally, I deem this transformation contains itself both bright side and dark side.

On the one hand, online classes offers learners a host of benefits. First, students stand a better chance to enroll in a wider variety of courses which are distant away from where they live. For instance, having taken lessons provided by traditional classes, students are welcomed to join extra foreign virtual classes, which is helpful for them to fulfil their weak area of knowledge and broaden their horizon as well. Second, as far as money is concerned, aside from tuition fee, accommodation and transportation expenditure are also a heavy cross to bear for overseas students. Therefore, if more courses were held on an online platform, these expenses could be cut off significantly, which partly lightens students' financial burden.

On the other hand, this alternative form of learning also comes with some downsides. To begin with, learning on an online platform requires a certain level of commitment and discipline. If learners do not devote sufficient efforts to their study, they will fall behind with their peers in terms of academic performance. Moreover, in some rural areas there are usually deficiencies in home Internet connections and modern gadgets. Because of that, it is impossible to provide students from those places with equal access to such online classes. Consequently, in spite of the aforementioned advantages, computer-based learning fails to reach all kinds of students in our society.

In conclusion, the alternative learning has its own advantages and disadvantages. Personally, I am of the opinion that this approach should be adopted as a complementary method besides compulsory offline courses due to some justifications listed above.