Task 2 IELTS TENDENCY TO WASTE FOOD

Task 2:

Nowadays, it seems that people tend to waste a great amount of food.

Why do you think this is happening? And how can we solve this problem?

In recent years, the prevalence of food wasted has been an increasing concern due to its substantial impact on human life as well as the environment. To put a halt to this situation, this essay will initially attempt to pinpoint the causes for food waste and subsequently offer some actionable solutions.

There are two underlying explanations for the tendency towards wasting food nowadays. One of the reasons is that food is more straightforward to afford. Since the average income as well as food productivity increases, affording food daily no longer imposes a burden on most families. The second reason for food squandering can be attributable to the mass fear of food-poisoning. In fact, a myriad of families tend to dispose food before the expiry date while it is completely edible.

Nevertheless, there are also a number of solutions to alleviate this issue. Firstly, people could voluntarily aid in food-rescue organizations. These organizations are set up to reduce the food wastage resulting from pre-expiry date disposal in big supermarkets by collecting them and giving out to the underprivileged. Secondly, the government could publish policies to ensure the quality of food on the market. By this way, faulty food would no longer be a concern for people.

In conclusion, affordability and mass misconception about food poisoning are two main factors attributed to large amount of food squandered. To mitigate these, it is recommended that food-rescue organizations be assisted . Furthermore, governors could ensure food safety by publishing reasonable policies.