TOEFL Writing Test Task2: Exercise alone or with a group of people

Some people prefer to exercise alone, such as running, while others like to exercise with a group of people, such as joining a sport team. Which do you prefer? Use a specific ideas and examples to support your decision on this issue.

group exercise has more benefits

Exercise is important to everybody. Doing exercise allow us to be energetic and healthy. In modern society, some people prefer to do exercise alone while others like to join a team work. Personally, I prefer the latter one.

Firstly, exercising in a group can make more new friends and not only improve our skills but prevent us from sport injure. Exercise is a good social activity. It help us to contact with each other in the most naïve of ourselves. Hence, no matter the people we are familiar with or not, we are able to make friends. Moreover, these new friends are more willing to share their personal exercise skills and experience during exercise. Therefore, we can enhance exercise skills and also keep the sport danger away. For example, Harry, a friend of mine, makes a lot of friends while he plays basketball with others. Therefore, his new friends not only share their basketball skills to him but also tell him how to prevent those danger during exercise. Now, his basketball skills are great and he becomes a basketball coach. By contrast, people who exercise alone cannot make new friends easily. In addition, once they do exercise in a wrong way, they not only are not able to rectify their problem but may get hurt easily because no one tell them the mistake they make. Hence, exercise in a group is better than alone.

Secondly, doing exercise with a group help me to be motivated. People are easily bored with exercise. After being bored with the exercise, we might find a lot of excuse and give up easily. To help ourselves stick on a plan, working with a team can help ourselves overcome the problem. Take myself for example. I tried many times to do exercise like jogging when I was an university student. However, being bored with jogging, I often gave myself an excuse, for example doing the report or preparing for the test. Gradually, I stopped going jogging and stayed in my dormitory all day long but did nothing. One day, one of my friend, Tommy, asked me to jog with him and his friends. I became motivated and keep the good habit until now. Someone says that exercise alone has more flexible schedule. However, although they may be flexible, they may become lazy without others supervising them and give up exercise in the end. Therefore, I definitely like to choose to do exercise in a group.

In conclusion, we can benefit from exercising in a group because we can make new friends. With this new friends, we can enhance our exercising skills and prevent from danger. In addition, we can stimulate by these friends and avoid us from being languid.