Test 1 TOEFL promotions: based on seniority or on performance?

In an enterprise everybody has the desire of a promotion; it is every employee's dream. However, the owners of the company can't please everybody. Therefore, most organizations have to choose on what base the promotion: on performance or on seniority; they also have to cope with the advantages and disadvantages of their decision.

If they choose to promote their job takers based on seniority this will bring a huge advantage: the faithfulness of their employees. If an individual is rewarded with a promotion in this way, it will keep working with the enterprise no matter what. Therefore, the company will never lack of employees or run out of people working in its divisions. This is also an advantage over the competition, since they will never achieve to steal or seduce the company's human resources.

However, sometimes quality is better than quantity. If their objective is spending the largest time with the company, the employees will not have a sense of competition. That's why giving promotions based on performance is better for the overall quality of the workers. They will have to work more and harder to reach the promotion and this will create an environment of competition that is generally healthy to have in the office. Furthermore, the company will generate wit this boost better products and better services, which is both good to outsmart the competition and to serve their clients well.

In the end, it is better to have few employees that contribute greatly to the enterprise than to have many faithful employees that lack of motivation to improve themselves. Nowadays, it is easy to find people willing to work for an enterprise but it is hard to find those that do the best of themselves. Finally, in the industrial world the one with the best working force and the best products is the one that wins the battle.