Writing task 2: Testing on animals - experiments to develop new medicines

trying out medicines on animals

Nowadays animal experiments are widely used to develop new medicines and to test the safety of other products. Some people argue that these experiments should be banned because it is morally wrong to cause animals to suffer, while others are in favour of them because of their benefits to humanity.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There are many people who argue that using animals for researching or testing medical products are immoral and should be prohibited. However, I believe that testing new medicines or vaccines on animals can be useful for reducing risk when people use these products.

It is generally agreed that experiments on animals are being many questionable ethics and especially in animal rights. This is because animals used for experiments are imprisoned and suffered from cruel activities such as making infected parasites before using the medicines to treat. Well-known example is the testing antimalarial medication on the monkeys. Scientists make monkeys infected malaria parasites and then they perform many experiments to find out the medicines which can treat the malaria. By doing that, these monkeys can be painful or even passed away because of performance of medicines.

However, I still believe that testing cosmetics on animals improves human health and reduces risk of new medicines. With this practice, we research and test performance of vaccines or drugs for human diseases before using for humans. Therefore, we can make sure that people exposed minimally to harmful toxins in cosmetics, leading to a drop human health risk. For example, people successfully invented the antimalarial medication to treat for the human malaria after experimentations and testing on monkeys. That is the best method that people can predict how this medicine would work on humans because these animals are the closest to humans.

In conclusion, although there are many controversial issues relative to animal rights, I believe that the advantages of testing medicines on animals outweigh than the disadvantages. However, authorities should encourage finding out new technologies which can simulate effect of medicines on humans to replace experiences on animals.