IELTS: Tests and examinations still present major problems, which can produce unrealistic results.

topic: Tests and examinations are a central feature of school systems in many countries.

Do you think the educational benefits of testing outweigh any disadvantages?

The sort of summative tests and examinations for appraise one's erudition is an issue that has aroused increasing controversy in the society. While such assessment has some merits, my view is that it is more liable to impact on students, namely their pressure and incomprehension.

On the one hand, examinations can be of great benefit, feasibly with the most visible one, the convenience. Generally, tests are able to be regarded as an elementary tool in order to regularly check students' knowledge. Exams normally occur in finite period; thereby, saving time for both examiners and attendees in the assessment. Furthermore, tests could contribute to promote competitiveness amongst students. Tests' results are often announced publicly and arranged in the order of the best one to the worst; therefore, they are prone to necessitate learners fastidious preparing so that they can obtain first-class degrees.

On the other hand, despite the aforementioned values, some drawbacks still exist, including the pressure. Owing to this matter, there is concrete evidence that these summative tests may not comprehensively evaluate one's whole study period. On condition that he is put under considerable stress in the exam, he possible perform not as adequately as usual, leading to inferior results. Another conspicuous issue would be the incomprehension of the exams. These educational audits includes a certain number of questions, which may not overall check the whole erudition that a student have acquired in the duration.

To sum up, currently, although tests and examinations are inevitable methods to evaluate one's understanding for their real merits, they still present major problems, which can produce unrealistic results.