[IELTS TASK 2] THEORY VS EXPERIENCE IN FUTURE JOB MARKET

In today job market, it is far more important to have practical skills than theoretical knowledge. In the future, job applicants may not need any formal qualifications. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

I find this topic really challenging as I cannot express my points clearly throughout my essay. So I am desperate for help.

practical skills versus theoretical knowledge

Nowadays, employers are likely to employ applicants who have handy experience over those with good academic results. In my opinion, formal qualification will still be priorities in certain professions while it is less important in others.

On the one hand, a degree is an indispensable prerequisite to land a job in medicine and science. Complete of a four-year college does not only mean dedication but also proves applicants' ability to grasp and comprehend a myriad of knowledge. Medical students, for example, have to complete book study, laboratory experiment , mock exams and continuous assessments before they are trusted to provide care for patients. In addition, academic assignments also develop skills that are in high demand among employers. Interpersonal skills, presentation, writing, and collaboration all play a vital role that enhance their chance to seek employment and make progress in their future career.

On the other hand, there are certain jobs where formal education is not a priority. Employers in manual and creative industries are inclined to employ those who can really do the job rather than others with good academic background. The outbreak of online learning and the availability of tutorials on the Internet enable people to flourish their talent and land a glamorous occupation. The nature of their job, which promote individualism and independence, putting less emphasis on the development of soft skills which are the requirements of the bulk of other jobs.

In conclusion, formal qualification is important for those who seek employment in scientific fields, while creative industry prefer experience over theoretical knowledge.