A thing that you can learn about another country by visiting it and impossible to know just from TV?

Some people say that you can learn more about another country by watching television programmes and film about it than by actually visiting it.

How true is this statements? Is there anything that you can learn about another country by visiting it that you cannot learn by watching programmes about it?

Television programmes and films broaden people's horizon, especially to the young people and children. People can get more knowledge about other nations through television programmes and watching movies which share about these countries. But I believe it will be better way if people travel and stay abroad which they learn directly to native inhabitant both habit and culture totally than just watching partially on television programmes and film.

Every society has different habit and customs, which is affected by the history. To know more about it people should learn deeply and experience the same environment. Travelling and living in other country means being involved in native society and more than just seeing the habit and culture. Western people who come to Indonesia can observe how villager can walk without shoes. As a result of this traveler remember the reason and the effect of the habit which became a culture. It is evident that this such immersion activities than just watching.

Most television programmes and movie just describe the most important part of another country, not all the aspects of lives and generally it only tell the good one. For instance, sheriff in old American films always represents as a hero, in fact not all sheriff is good. As a result we only see partially of the native habit and customs, this way is not enough to give us more detailed information.

To conclude, although we can learn foreign cultures and habit by learning television programmes and watching movies, but I would believe by travelling and living in native nation gives more knowledge of the whole part of other's habit and customs. Where possible it is good being stayed a while for traveler in overseas which they can be involved in native inhabitant.