The things we learn from our friends are more important than what we learn from our family

Independent Writing Task for TOEFL iBT

Question:

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

For some people, absorbing an abundance of learning from their own friends is very significant as they assume that there will be a lot of problem-solving gained. The others, however, prefer to get this kind of issue from family belonging to since they suppose that it is more important. In my own perspective then, I do stand for the first idea due to the fact that based on my experience, I attempt more cases inspiring me when I am interacting with several persons getting a friend in me.

Basically, I could not deny that family of mine did deliver much knowledge as the foundation so that I can live this life in a good way. When I was a kid, for instance, my parents taught me sharing concept, especially when I was getting along with surrounding, not to mention siblings. That I am not alone in this world so I am supposed to have an empathy sense with other people, is what I learned. This term nevertheless gradually decreased regarding the quality time to time as I have grown up.

Recently, I have been used to spend days outside rather than inside my home. I have blended in with a wider scope of interaction and I have fit in with various types of people. Diversity then gives me numerous experiences in terms of the way I behave and handle certain matters faced.

Moreover, getting inspired from my friends, particularly the peers, is more realistic because they are in the similar circumstance to me. It is more adequate when I have to compare to my condition and my friends indeed understand more about my problem shared. This situation hence contributes a lot to my life.

All in all, it is unavoidable that family circle has a main role to teach about real life for some extents, specifically in early ages. Thus, I believe for a typical person like me, learning can be adapted more from friends.