TOEFL - What things a movie tells about its country

Full Topic: Films can tell us a lot about the country where they were made. What have you learned about a country from watching its movies? Use specific examples and details to support your response.

A movie is an art form that conveys a plot, or a storyline, through the means of video. As movies are made in a variety of countries, it carries itself many things about the country that the movie was made in. Largely, a film can deliver the native language and the national value to the audience.

The first thing a movie tells about its country of origin is its language. Movies are almost always made in the language of the country it was made in. The audience will get to know more about the language by listening to dialogues and speeches made throughout a movie. Bollywood films are mostly in Indian, and by watching Bollywood films, one can get a peek into the Indian language as well. When watching Hollywood films, most of which are in English, one can get a grasp of American English Second, a film carries its country's national values. Films that are based on a storyline that is related to its country can express values unique to the country. For example, the wild west films that are about stories of cowboys express the American macho spirit the cowboys and Americans at that period had. A more modern example is the Independence Day, which expresses American sense of international leadership, where the American president becomes the hero of the entire world by fighting against ailens. These movies portray the national values a country has.

Traditionally, movies were made by actors, writers, and staff who are from their own country. Even if the current trend is towards globalization, the general characteristics of a film still remain limited to the national level. Therefore, movies are a microcosm that allows the audience to learn about their country's language and virtues.