Do you think that arts need to take a large part of the school timetable? Agree or disagree

Topic: Some people believe that subjects such as Music, Arts, Drama and Creative Writing will contribute a great deal to children's development; therefore they should take a large part of the school timetable. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Cognitive development is a complex process, through which many abstract concepts start growing up in a child's mind. Psychologists think that arts are powerful tools helping children in this process. Thus, it is believed that various arts such as music, painting, etc., must take more portions of school's educational plans. I utterly agree with this opinion due to several psychological and social reasons.

Arts and the concept of creativity are intertwined, meaning that a creative person can be a good artist and art can also make people creative. When a child is asked to paint without providing him/her with a model, he/she has to draw his imaginations, which is one of the most effective methods for fortifying creativity in a person. In fact, children learn how to build a world outside the real world in their mind. It has been proven that changes in a society are made by people who see things differently. For example, modern designs of buildings, the advent of new philosophies like Marks, or even contemporary drawing styles like cartoons that explain social and political issues, all were needed creative people to be born. In short, if we look for changes in our society, we must work on our children at schools to make them creative by posing them to different artistic environments.

Moreover, artists do not see the world black and white. Many ordinary people judge the world based on their good and bad experiences. Therefore, one can categorize normal people to optimistic and pessimistic individuals. However, arts open new windows towards people. They allow people to come out from their shells and see the world colourful. A writer, for example, has a wide horizon and lives different lives, since he/she needs to create different characters with different personalities, difficulties and social classes. In other words, if we provide children with an opportunity to think artistically, they can enhance their mind to a higher level, so that they can understand various aspects of life and the people around them easily, the facets which are invisible for normal individuals.

Finally, one of the main stages of the mind development is finding a connection between things surrounded us. Arts help us to improve this skill. When we look at glasses, for instance, they are just glasses in our eyes, while an artist see other things such as the light direction and angle, the position of glasses on a table and its relationship with the surrounding environment, or even the objects which are observed through the lenses. Consequently, arts are good practices for sharpening people's minds, and this would be more effective when it is done at the early ages of a person's life.

In light of the aforementioned facts, I believe that arts can immensely affect children's development cause they produce more creative people who see the world more colourful.