Do you think it is better to send criminals to jail or let them receive education or

One of the brewing discourses, which create a public stir, is the talk on the methods of dealing with criminals. In relation to this, while some people argue that imprisonment is necessary to punish offenders, other people claim that implementing rehabilitating methods is more effective for both the offenders and the society. Prior to rendering my opinion, let us look into all the related arguments.

The primary factor we should consider is that the purpose of prison is to punish offenders so that make sure the safety of law-abiding citizens. There are many culprits who neglect other people's lives and property and these criminals are threatening public order and innocents citizens. Therefore, it is agreeable to imposing imprisonment and depriving them of liberty so that they are no longer able to commit crimes. Moreover, we should consider the emotion of the victims and their families. They hope the criminals should be punished to pay the price for their guilt, instead of having education or vocational training for preparing their future lives, because it is a justice of the society.

On the contrary, human rights activist claim that implementing locking up is not effective way to deter crime rates and recidivism. There are several reasons we should provide vocational training and education for malefactors. Firstly, education may change their thought on life and the society; hence, they have second change to recognize and reflect on their guilt, which leads them to re-integrate in the community. Furthermore, it is via vocational training that ex-convicts have proper job and support themselves and their family. Therefore, they may be no longer induced by committing crime with financial motives.

In a nutshell, I have finally come to realization that imprisoning may be a good device to punish culprits; however, education and job training may help criminals to rehabilitate and integrate in the community. Moreover, it contributes to reduce crime motives among re-convicts.