Do you think being a celebrity is beneficial or troublesome?

Being a celebrity - such as a famous film star or sports personality brings problems as well as benefits.

Do you think being a celebrity brings more benefits or problems?

Famous personalities like film celebrities and sportspersons enjoy certain rewards like respect due to their status but this popularity also comes at a cost. I believe being a celebrity a celebrity has more problems than benefits as by always being in the spotlight, you lose the concept of a personal life and also you are only relevant as long as you are popular.

Firstly, once you're a celebrity all your personal affairs are in the limelight. The most intricate and intimate details about your past, your family are made public and scrutinized. Celebrities always find themselves under the microscope, constantly followed by media and paparazzi and their every decision is publicized and judged. Even their relationships are under a magnifying glass and the slightest mistake can cost them their fame and success. For instance, recently intimate pictures of various Hollywood actresses were shared on social media for the whole world to see shaming them in the process.

Secondly, the fame and respect that celebrities receive is directly proportional to their popularity and performance. Movie stars are most popular when their films are performing well, similarly sportsmen are admired as long as they are performing on the pitch. Due to the fickle nature of public opinion, a single poor performance can decrease your popularity and with it all the benefits you enjoy being a celebrity. For example, Yuvraj Singh helped India win the world cup in 2011, however, in the next series he failed miserably which led to the Indian population boycotting everything associated with him.

In conclusion, losing one's social and personal life is too high a cost for the celebrity status. Additionally, the benefits associated with being a celebrity are very short lived as one can fall from public grace at the smallest mistake..