Some think that children should be obedient to the rules and do what the teachers want them to do

Hi,

My aim is to achieve 7 or above. Thank you all in advance for the kind help!

IELTS Task 2

Topic:

Some people think children should obey rules and do what the teachers want them to do, others think controlled children are not prepared for children's adult life in the future. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

The views on whether children should obey rules and to what extent children should follow teachers' instruction are split. Some people believe that children should always obey authority, while others think that following orders does more harm than good to children. I believe that whether children should follow the rules is definitely not a matter of black and white. In other words, we should judge it on a case by case basis.

First and foremost, very often we make rules with the intention of teaching children values rather than constraining them. By making rules, we teach children to love and respect other people rather than bully and mock others, to share rather than to be selfish, and to respect diversity rather than be narrow-minded. It is both unrealistic and silly to expect children to be born with good values. In this case, I believe that it is beneficial that children obey rules.

In addition, children are more susceptible to negative influences comparing with adults. It is common practice that films are rated and thus children below a certain age are not exposed to excessive violence. In the same spirit children are banned to drink alcohol and smoke cigarettes. In these scenarios, I strongly support the idea that teachers should make sure that children follow rules.

On the other hand, teachers should not become dictators who do not tolerant different ideas and expect children to blindly obey orders all the time. Much research indicates that too much authority can curb creativity, which is an important human characteristic. Actually, creativity is the major characteristic that differentiates human beings from other animals and thus we should always make sure that children are not limited by the fear that they have different and novel ideas. In the end, we evolve and make progress by having bold ideas and dream big.

Last but not least, we should not try to control children and make every decision for them - sooner or later they will have to make choices for themselves as they grow up so they should learn to make up their own minds as children. If children are taught to be obedient all the time they may feel lost once people no longer tell them what to do.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that children should obey some rules so that they are taught the right values but at the same time children should not be expected to blindly follow the teachers' orders and controlled by rules.