Do you think it is necessary to take an entrance exam to enter a college or university?

I believe it is necessary to take an entrance exam to enter a college or university. There are arguments for why this should be mandatory for all students. First, in order to evaluate that students have the knowledge and skills they need to succeed in their higher education(This idea is not clear!) Many students suffer and fail at university because of the lack of basic knowledge. Another reason is that in the preparation process, students prove themselves the interest they have to pursue a career. Some students may be applying to a wrong career because of their parents' desire or friends' decision and this can weaken preparation and motivation, driving them to poor results and frustration.(Is this a reason? Check your main idea)Finally, I believe that by entrance exam universities and colleges may select a specific profile. For example, a university may be known for his research and discoveries at science fields, and in this case they will choose a person with related interests. To conclude, I think it is a good idea that all students take an entrance exam in order to measure their knowledge, to prove themselves the interest they have to pursue a career and to demonstrate to the university or college that they have what it takes to enter.