Some of my thoughts - an essay

Do we really cause things to happen - as, does something within ourselves do this?

Some things, some actions appear natural and correct, and others appear strained. Take something very ordinary like walking along with someone. I notice and I'm sure the other person does too, those things which are not natural. Simple things, not necessarily in what we are talking, but even actions, if I do make them. To bring this out in greater relief, it is most obvious when, these individuals are seeking to impress the other, maybe with some aspect of themselves, that they believe, or maybe they are themselves uncertain about, but wonder if it may be so.

But I am drawing attention to only that which is natural and asking, why is it so?

We are almost always, apparently making choices from a multitude of many - of things we could do, and ways we could do them. I may stop now and make a cup of coffee or, I may get up and go sit elsewhere. Or, that I chose to write.

But later, when someone asks me and I tell them I did this, or I didn't do this, they think of some actions as natural and others may strike them as weird, or they may think, good for you, you finally got around to it. These things appear more and more as only the expected. And growing out in an expected way.

But we're trying to talk about the unexpected happening, in a natural way.

As when considering two varieties of corn, of which we know one has superior growth, we watch them over days and weeks and see this difference, but don't see anything now indicating that it would happen as this.

We think about individuals we've known, those we grew up close with and have seen their traits. Then we come to know about them after a period of many years. That it turned out as such and such is not a surprise to us, but that something in particular happened with them, surprises us and sets us thinking, and we say to ourselves, that's life. It's something totally unexpected, yet we accept it as natural, and even try to take some lesson for ourselves from it.

This is what I am trying to talk about, that nature acts, and acts in a way that is somehow appropriate, befits just who we are, just who we needed to become - which then we do, due to that natural intervention to our life.