The threat of nuclear weapons maintains world peace. Nuclear power provides cheap and clean energy.

The benefits of nuclear energy overweigh the disadvantages.

Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer.

While the lethal power of nuclear weapons has long been a threat to humankind and the union between countries. Many argue that it is a green alternative energy source with lower cost and this merit outweighs the downside. Despite its potential merit, I disagree with the latter idea and believe that the downsides are much more significant.

Many people believe that atomic energy has the potential to be the leading source of energy. The colossal environmental cost of fossil fuels has led to nuclear energy, a type of power that is both eco-friendly and inexhaustible. In fact, the developed nations nowadays all have their own nuclear factories to provide electricity and they have substantially helped further the modern industries, bringing about a prosperous economy. However, looking at its deadly nature once leaked out to the environment, all of that thriving scenarios pale into insignificance. Take the Chernobyl power plant's radiation leak as an example. The city in which this factory is located is now a ghost town. The radio destroyed everything and rendered the area surrounding the power station uninhabitable for potentially thousands of years.

Further, the fact that many powerhouses in the world possess the secret of nuclear power poses such a threat to global peace. No one knows at any time in the future, a third world war will explode. If it is the case, the elimination of nuclear power now may be of utmost importance as battles using nuclear war will claim not only thousands of lives but hundreds of millions of people. In addition, nuclear weapons can possibly fall into the wrong hands in the black market. Thus, its existence has never ceased to be a danger.

In conclusion, while there is no denying that nuclear is cleaner, more powerful, and cheaper than non-renewable sources of energy, its benefit is all eclipsed by the potential threat. If no drastic steps are made to eradicate this type of weapon, human existence will be jeopardised.