IELTS Writing Task2: Throwaway culture reasons and consequences

throwaway society

Today people are living in a "throwaway society" where they use things for a short time and then throw it away. What are the causes? And what problems can it lead to?

In recent years people tend to possess things for a short period of time before getting rid of them. There are a number of reasons why is this the case, and it could have many undesirable consequences.

People today live in a throwaway culture for three main reasons. Firstly, the flourish in the global economy has led to increasing the availability of new cutting-edge products at cheap prices; which encouraged people to buy new possessions and throw away the old ones conversely. Secondly, the humankind tendency of comparing and competing with others creates a culture of showing off and trying to possess the most sophisticated products. For example, people today replace their phones with the last version and their cars with the final model in spite the fact that the old ones can do the same purpose. Finally, the growth in the advertising industry affected people decisions on what to buy in a negative way.

The development of a consumerism society could have a number of drawbacks. From an environmental perspective, throw away culture creates more waste and consumes more natural resource in order to produce them; all of which are harmful to the environment and could be damaging for the planet eco-system. From an individual point of view, this trend could affect one's financial security. When people spend most of their money on buying things they do not actually need, they will eventually sell thing they need. Moreover, the traditional value of sharing and borrowing things will disappear if everyone only relies on themselves and buy whatever they need.

To conclude, throwaway culture can be caused by a variety of reasons, and it might have a negative impact on both environment and individual life.