Too much time is spent on learning facts and not enough on practical skills

Some people say that in all levels of education, from primary schools to universities, too much time is spent on learning facts and not enough on practical skills.

Do you agree or disagree?

the point is an useful knowledge

There is no doubt that pedagogy has evolved constantly weeding out and incorporating a multitude of aspects.Whilst some advocate that these changes are beneficial taking into account the factual information grasped by the pupils, others argue that these are incapable to supplement the essential skills required. Personally, I am inclined to the view that schools - from primary to tertiary - must not take the required skills for granted as it could be detrimental to their career growth.

The main reason for studying practical skill is to increase the employability of a job aspirant. Clearly, researchers of All India Council for Technical Education (AICTE) say that only 15% of the total engineers in India are capable of an engineering career.This explains why there are numerous potential engineers unemployed particularly in India. What is more, spoon feeding - giving all information rather than encouraging to find them - spoils the student as they incapable search for required information or improvise their method on their own. Obviously, This could prove fatal in case of physicians where mere textbook facts are not enough to deal with the complications they face with the patients such as a bizarre surgery outcome.

Secondly, in spite of mugging up a lot of information, pupils are unable to apply them. This is particularly disadvantageous for a technically sound person who cannot express his ideas due to a communication problem. Furthermore, lack of morale could even cause catastrophic results: aeroplane accident caused by the pilot in 2005 in France due to inappropriate coordination - pilot could not effectively communicate with ground staff when the fuel was low which claimed 312 lives.

In conclusion, I would like to reiterate that grasping chunks of knowledge with no basis to apply them anywhere is useless. It is recommended that all young people should be trained well with technical and soft skills needed to thrive in their lives.