TOEFL_A job with more vacation time but a low salary is better than a job with a high

A job with more vacation time but a low salary is better than a job with a high salary but less vacation time.

As the French writer Voltaire said "work banishes those great evils: boredom, vice and poverty". Thus, it is clear that both leisure time and compensation are pivotal in making a decision of occupation. However, the definition of happiness compels me to choose a job with more leisure time without any hesitation.

It is true that a high-paying job allows people to gain more money to ensure a more comfortable and worry-free life. With a high income, people can afford delicious foods, live in comfortable housing and purchase expensive commodities. In addition, earning a high income also wins recognition, respect and admiration from others, which is why doctors and lawyers are among the most respected jobs in the world.

Nevertheless, if people choose a less strenuous job with more vacation time, they would become physically healthier and emotionally healthier. For example, on their holiday, they can play sports or enjoy more recreation and amusement which are the elements of a happy life leading to less stress and tension. In contrast, those people who have a high salary but less vacation time may often focus too much on meetings, sales targets or contracts, etc. Hence they ignore their physical and mental health, but are overwhelmed by high pressure instead.

What's more, the relationship between a person and his family members will be much improved as he chooses a job with more vacation time because he has more time to join in family activities such as picnicking or camping. Consequently, intimate relationships will prevent recurrent problems such as divorce which is always associated with a lack of communication. For children, additionally, the absence of one parent can exert a deeply negative effect on their development. The child might question his own value to the father or mother and develop low self-esteem. Neither lavish pocket money nor expensive gifts could compensate for lack of love or improper guidance. The majority of parents would not abandon their children in this way.

By comparing these two types of working conditions, one would easily see which is better. Despite some workaholics or some people who are able to find an excellent balance between life and work, most people such as I would rather sacrifice salary for personal time for those reasons.