TOFEL writing practice - Can teachers be both popular(students like them) and helpful to students?

Hello Essay Forum, this is my first thread, with my writing practice of TOEFL. because I need some help to improve my writing skills,and any help would be appreciated. :)

Question: Can teachers be both popular(students like them) and helpful to students?

Answer:

It has been long debated that if the popularity and the effectiveness to students' learning of a teacher are inversely affecting each other or not. While some people may think, as popularity grows, effectiveness will decline for some of the necessary strictness in education is sacrificed to maintain the harmonic and peaceful atmosphere in class, I beg for differ to claim that, there are some methods that an educator can become both popular and effective for the students, because in most of the cases I have encountered, popularity actually came from effectiveness, and being humorous is also a good example of being effective.

First of all, students aim for good grades, and they would reach for whatever takes them to the goal. Thus, most of them would tend to stay in a more effective teacher's class rather than a less effective one, thus, becoming an effective teacher is a good way to gain popularity. For example, my high school math teacher is an old man who doesn't make any jokes or show any sense of humor in class, but because of his way of teaching is so understandable, making the math concepts rather easy to remember, students love him very much that everyone taking his class is thankful, and appreciated him. Therefore, he becomes one of the most popular teachers in our school.

Secondly, there are many ways of making knowledge easier to remember, and one of them, is a method which makes the teacher become popular among students, that is, telling jokes. And as the students like the class and the teacher so much because of the jokes, they become more likely to remember what the teacher is giving them. For instance, if the teacher is good at telling jokes which is related to the knowledge that is necessary for the students to keep in mind, the student will remember the joke because it is fun, and then recall the knowledge after all. Thus, the teacher becomes effective to the students while being popular.

Accordingly, effectiveness and popularity tends to come together when it is about teaching and learning in my experience, because students will always opt for the best for their academic performance. This is why I disagree with the statement of there exists a conflict between effectiveness and popularity.