Essays from Ielts Writing Task 2

Some organisations believe that their employees should dress smartly. Others value quality of work above appearance.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, there is an argument among people about the importance of employees at work. Some believe that their workers should wear smart. Meanwhile, others claim that the value quality of work is much more important than clothes. From my point of view, I partly agree with this opinion and in this assignment, I will show that both two opinions have their own reasons.

To begin with, it can not be denied that office clothing always has to be appropriate for the workplace. To exemplify, imagining at a workplace required the fully precise and exceptionally clean like hospitals, the doctors wear the same clothes which they use to go to club instead of scrubs when take part in a surgery, it is undeniably unacceptable. Or when a person has to attend a meeting that is really pivotal to decide whether a contract will be signed or not then he appears in the conference with a pyjama, it is not surprisingly that the cooperation comes to its end. Hence, I strongly have faith in the point that in different events, the employees must dress appropriate clothes which depend on that situation.

On the flip side, the work cloth did vital in office, however, it is not the whole factor that can lead a company to big success. Further and more importantly, the success of a company also will be evaluated by quality of work. According to statistics, in some place that focus on the creation and artistic development like marketing companies, companies that allow workers to dress comfortable and suitable clothes witness much more effective in work than those who have strict rules about office clothings. Concretely, it is believed that the more cozy and comfortable clothing the worker wearing, the more concentration they give during working hours. Therefore, the effective and efficient quality of works go higher.

In a nutshell, as every coin has two sides, this opinion both has its pros and cons. From my point of view, I believe that the employers should treasure and consider carefully not only what clothing that their workers dress at work but also the outstanding performance the employees give to have an comprehensive overview about their employees.