IELTS topic. animal experiments have more disadvantages over their advantages

Examine the arguments in favour of and against animal experiments, and come to a conclusion on this issue.

A matter of considerable controversy at present is the issue of whether animal research conducted inside universities, medical schools, pharmaceutical companies has more advantages than disadvantages. Strong arguments exist in support of both sides of this debate, which implies that it is worth examining both points of view before reaching any conclusion. 52

On one side of the argument there are people who argue that the benefits outweigh its disadvantages. Many drugs and treatments that are discovered need to be tested in order to ensure the humans' safety when they use or are exposed to certain substances. As a result, animal research is a 'must' in our modern lives, because even sophisticated computers are unable to model interactions between molecules, cells, tissues, organs, organisms and the environment, making animal research necessary in many areas. For example cats are used in neurological research; if treatments for people's brain or nervous system were directly administrated to people, there is no doubt that the side effects would be countless.113

On the other hand, it is also possible to make the opposing case. It is often argued that enormous amounts of money are wasted in the process of animal experimentation. The price increases dramatically if it is taken into consideration the fact that animals must be fed, housed, cared for and treated with drugs or similar substances in order to give a proper response to the drugs that are administrated. In addition, the price of animals themselves must also be factored into the equation. A second point is the torture and pain animals must undergo during researches. A particular good example here is the famous documentary released by Manchester University in 2010, where many vertebrate animals were discovered with eyesight and hearing ability problems or even having body parts missing.130

To conclude, there is evidence both to support and refute the view of animal experimentation. On one hand, it provides realiable results for neurology, development biology or behavioral studies and on the other hand, the price which has to be paid is too great when compared to the results. 49