Topic: Books can lead us and give a heads up on some topics

topic :

It has been said, "Not everything that is learned is contained in books."

Compare and contrast knowledge gained from experience with knowledge gained from books. In your opinion, which source is more important? Why?

Please review and drop your comments.

Books are considered a good source of knowledge. They apprise us about already known facts and concepts. But there are various things for which books do not come very handy.For example, we can't learn swimming by reading it from a book. We have to practice in a pool to get perfect on it. Like swimming, there are many other things which we can only learn by our experiences. And, I think our experiences give us more applicable knowledge than books.

In college, we have books available for every course and have teachers to help us. Still many students, who follow only the books to get good grades, meet failure later in life where their bookish knowledge won't help them in practical world. We have many examples from current world where dropouts from colleges are running big multinational companies like facebook or Microsoft. They don't have a formal degree but they still improvised their ideas through personal experiences.

Nowadays, to make study more applicable, colleges start introducing practical classes in their courses. It's motivating students to do projects and assignments using their own findings and to not completely rely on books for studies. Books can be prove vital in the fields like history, geography etc. where facts are well established and do not change very often. But fields like science and maths where concepts are more intricate and transient, we need to do practical to understand it properly. The students who learn through practicals gain more clear knowledge of academic concepts. It says that Thomas Edison had used and wasted thousands of bulbs before inventing light bulb. This shows how important the personal experiences are.

When we are in job, these experiences serve as a pool of knowledge. Many times at our work, we come across new situations which can not be directly solve using the books so we try to find the solution using nontraditional approaches. Generally in office, we need to complete more work in less time which many times requires out of box thinking which might not be mentioned in books. This is the main reason that people with more years of experience snatch the bigger salary package in corporate world.

Experiences become very vital in management jobs which require daily customer interaction. People in these jobs deal with the markets which change hurriedly and give strict competition. They can't afford to stick to old bookish principles so they keep on evolving their strategies with their fresh experiences. Even federal governments also follow the same kind of plans. They keep upgrading their laws on the basis of experiences and feedbacks they receive from people.

So in conclusion, I think that Books can lead us and give us heads up on some topics but to gain the actual understanding we have to dig the concepts in practical. It is same as we can never learn to ride bike by reading any amount of books. We need to ride it several times before learning it.