iELTS WRITING TASK 2: Topic: In cities, large shopping center and supermarket become more popular

Topic:

In cities, large shopping center and supermarket become more popular than small local shop. Is this positive or negative development.

Those desirable modern shopping centers..

Answer:

In recent years, the appearance of modern shopping areas such as big commercial centers and supermarkets in the cities is more popular than small local shops. While I accept that this may be a positive development, I believe that it is also a negative one.

On the one hand, there are several reasons why this trend is beneficial in some ways. Firstly, local residents will find it easier to buy some kinds of essential things like food and household items in big-scale shopping buildings instead of going to more than one location. There is definitely a variety of products in a similar commercial complex, which is what most citizens expect these days to save their own times. Secondly, some small stores sell their products such as fruits and drinks without verified origins which is forced in either each shop of shopping complex or supermarket. If any object is bought in the supermarket, its quality will be guaranteed.

On the other hand, this development can be extremely negative. One reason is that the business of local employers will be affected because of the competition between them and the owners of commercial buildings. This will bring about a considerable decrease of local income, which may lead a part of the locals unable to make ends meet. Furthermore, the excessive growth of such large shopping areas can lead to the shortage of space for public usage. As a result, the local inhabitants will have less place to do physical activities like sports and morning exercises.

In conclusion, it is certainly true that these modern shopping buildings should be more popular, but this is by no means that these places will be excessively developed.