Ielts Task 2 Topic: computer skills after writing, reading and maths

Writing, reading and maths are the three recognized traditional subjects. Computer skills should also be the fourth largest branch. Do you agree or disagree?

the importance of computer skills

Whether or not besides the three most vital disciplines namely writing, reading and maths, computer skills should be the next one on the list is a question of much controversy. Come conventional people claim that it is waste of time as literacy is enough for them to have a good life. However, other people, myself included, totally agree that being computer literate is essential as it not only enhance knowledge but also gain promotions.

To begin with, it is obvious that computers dominate the world with every passing day. It not only affects people's personal life but also their work aspects. For instance, more and more people access to social networks such as Facebook and Instagram, so if people desire to join in those activities, computer skills is the one of the first thing they need to know. Similarly, when people apply for a job, knowing how to use a computer is one of basic skills that company require. Therefore, if people do not have computer literacy, it is hard for them to seek a job.

We should also recognize the fact that both learners and workers have benefits as they know computer skills. As a learner, they are able to type all the long assignments which can be up to 5000 words instead of writing on paper. Apart from it, for learners who do not have a chance to sit in a classroom, knowing how to use computer will help them broaden the horizon by another method which is the participation in online courses. Regarding workers, as virtual offices replace physical ones, they will work with computer rather than paper and pen.

Admittedly, it could also be said that writing, reading and maths are the fundamental to enrich knowledge, especially maths. It plays a vital role in normal life as it nurtures people's logical and critical thinking. However, I still stand by what I said since in a digital era, if people are not a computer- literate, they will not able to land a decent job as well as connect with the surrounding world.

To sum up, even though writing, reading and maths are three recognized important subject, computer skills could be considered as an essential branch of education system in order to equip youngster to face the modern world.