IELTS Writing task 2 topic: connection of news to people's life

Essay: Some say that news has no connection with most people's life and it is a waste of time for most of us to read newspapers and watch television news programs.

Do you agree or disagree?

News importance is an issue which has many's the time generated a myriad of controversial debates. Whilst there is a school of thought which contends that current affairs are irrelevant to people's lives and it is such time down the drain watching news, I would be convinced that keeping posted with the news is not so purposeless as some certain individuals suppose.

To begin with, from my perspective, following the news has brought about numerous advantages to every civil. Firstly, gaining information from official sources is attributable to raise residents' awareness of prelevant events. Take COVID-19 as a stark example, with the proper guildline along with the up-to-the-minute national reports, the death toll can be kept at the minimum and citizens are armed with fundamental knowledge to remain safe. Nevertheless, phenomenon of watching information program is likely to facilitate forming comprehensive viewpoints about everyday issues such as politics, science or economy. Not only can news readers have their own stance when judging any angles but they also more topics to discuss with friends in daily talks.

On the other hand, it is true to some extend that a minority of news is loosely associated with human life . Specifically, celebrities' scandals, which are not crucial in citizens' lives are sometimes overly paid a great deal of attention to. However, this kinds of news could serve as a form of entertainment.

Given to this argument, I oppose dimissing news as an unnecessity, thus it is strikingly evident that official broadcasters invariably have a profound influence on humanity.