Toefl topic--how is your generation different from your parents' generation?

The development of the society is of extremely high speed. People of my generation may even find it hard to visualize the life of twenty years ago, when our parents were growing up. Inevitably, there exists differences between the two generations.

Our parents grew up in a tough time when they had to worry much about food and clothes. For this reason, they tend to act with discretion, taking everything into consideration before making a final decision. However, people of my age are well under the care of our parents, living a peaceful and affluent life. We make up our mind spontaneously, and never concern too much about the details in fulfilling our goals. The difference can be well illustrated by everyday shopping. Our parents are more likely to buy a basket of apples with each and every one carefully inspected. But young people may just purchase a dozen using credit cards even without any idea of their price. In short, we are fast decision makers while our parents often have a more complete and thorough plan in advance.

Second, compared with our parents, we are more readily open minded to new things especially new technology appearing around us. In fact, our growing up is accompanied by a boom in technology and economy. Things like computers and the internet are just important and indispensable in our daily life. However, our parents used to lead a relatively simple life, so high tech products have less impact on their lives. In most cases, they would rather solve problems in their own traditional ways.

Finally, most of us receive higher education. With limited education resources, many of our parents didn't have a chance to enter a university or college though they had a strong desire. They just form their view of world in the university of life. On the other hand, we are now fortunate enough to have more access to high level education than our parents had before. As a result, we usually have individual and independent opinions on different things. However, we have a lot to learn from our parents because they have much more practical experiences to solve problems efficiently and effectively. Also, they do better in how to cooperate and collaborate with others to make things run smooth.

This essay really costed me a lot of time.