Topic: key problems facing the world's cities in the 21st century and solutions

I'm practising the IELTS Academic writing - Task 2

I hope someone can check my essay and give me some advice. Thank you in advance.

Topic: What are the key problems facing the world's cities in the 21st century, and what can be done about them?

the new era - the new problems

Nowadays, almost half of the world's population live in urban areas. The overcrowding has serious consequences for the standards of living of city dwellers. In this essay, I would like to argue two of the most pressing urban problems: air pollution and homelessness.

First and foremost, pollution is undoubtedly the most serious. The overcrowding of the cities and the urban sprawl are damaging the environment. In fact, the metropolitan areas are markedly becoming concrete jungles overwhelming by smog in due to the disappearance of green spaces in favour of the uncontrolled construction of roads and buildings.

The government should play a crucial role in protecting green belts and promoting green areas in the urban planning. Moreover, other common suggestions in order to reduce the urban impact should be the imposing of vehicle taxes and the encouraging of the usage of public transports.

Considering the second problem, the urban areas suffer from an increased homelessness. Since the outbreak of the financial crisis in 2008, a considerable number of inhabitants lost their belongings falling into poverty. In addition, a large proportion of people from the rural area, bearing the brunt of economic crisis, has flocked to the cities hoping to find job opportunities but, in the end, forced to live on the streets.

Any civilian society should try to prevent and tackle this situation. A solution could be guarantee government subsidies in order to assure living condition over the poverty line. Furthermore, the authorities should promote the construction of homeless shelters and council estate to avoid the increment of homeless.

In conclusion, clearly, these are complex problems difficult to solve. Nevertheless, unless we take steps to face them now they will represent even more serious challenges in future.