IELTS Topic: No limits in car usage - problems and solutions

Hi everyone. I am preparing the IELTS exam at the moment. Could anyone give me some suggestions on this short assay I have written. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Topic: Unlimited car use has brought us a lot of problems. What are these problems? And should we discourage people from using cars?

As the living standard continues to improve, more people nowadays can afford a car for their daily commute. While we are enjoying the convenience and flexibility brought by this transport mode, we also have to suffer from the side effects that come with it.

One of the biggest problems caused by the overuse of cars is traffic congestion. This is especially the case in megacities like Beijing. With the number of cars increasing at an astonishing rate, the road system, however, has not been upgraded to meed the growing demand. As a result, in rush hours everyday, the main roads in these cities is jammed by cars. Sometimes, it can take up to several hours for the commuters just to get from home to work.

Another problem is the impact of car emission on the atmosphere. The exhausted gas from the burning fossil fuel contains CO2 which is well known for its contribution to the global warming. In fact, traffic jam is amplifying such a situation as more CO2 will be emitted into the air when those cars are waiting in lines with their engines on rather than running at full speed.

To solve these problems, I believe the use of cars should be discouraged and even be limited. However, before that, governments should provide the general public with better alternatives. For example, subways or light rails can divert the traffic flow but they do not occupy traffic lanes as buses do.

To sum up, I think unlimited car use have indeed brought us many troubles. To address these issues, control and reduction of the number of cars on the street is a must.