Essay topic: Making films and the advancement of digital technology

Nowadays, films are no longer made by big companies only

It is true that the advancement of digital technology facilitates the process of making films, which allows not only big organizations but also ordinary people to create fascinating films currently. Although there are some drawbacks, I would argue that its merits are much more considerable.

On the one hand, I believe that when videos are produced by an unprofessional filmmaker, several problems can be anticipated. Initially, viewers such as youngsters or children may be exposed to inappropriate videos in terms of violence or offense, leading to many detrimental effects on them. This is due to the fact that while companies specializing in this industry have to testify to the quality of films before publishing in the society, films produced by individuals may not have to undergo censorship. Furthermore, there are numerous websites, apps, and technical devices that enable people to create their videos, triggering copyright infringement. If independent filmmakers do not obey the regulations and they imitate others' ideas, they may be sued for this fault that results in compromising their profits as well as their reputation.

On the other hand, despite the drawbacks mentioned above, I am of the opinion that it is a positive trend. First of all, this phenomenon enables freelancers to fulfill their dream and participate in this field. In the past, only film companies were able to create films because they were equipped with many modern and dedicated facilities supporting their jobs. Nevertheless, nowadays people are able to make a video with their own mobile phone or computer, which demonstrates the fact that it is a favorable environment for talented people to develop and have more opportunities for designing and writing their own stories. In addition, making films freely could expand the variety of genres or topics, which assist the public to enhance their knowledge and broaden their horizons about new aspects. While big organizations concentrate more on the prominent types of films that appeal to a huge number of audiences, people working freely could share their daily activities, or their own stories to encourage other people.

In conclusion, while I agree that free filmmakers can cause several demerits such as improper content or violating copyright, this trend also offers people several benefits. In particular, many individuals could pursue their dreams and create more hilarious videos for the viewers.