TOEFL topic: which one do you prefer? studying alone or studying with a teacher.

People have different ideas about either studying alone or studying with a teacher, which entirely depend on one's personality and determination. I would personally rather to study alone for two main reasons. First, self-studying is more challenging and engaging. Second, it confers more control over timing.

The most important point to take into account is that self-studying makes an individual more actively involved in the study process, since he has to understand and analyze the materials by himself. He knows that he has to overcome his problems on his own, and this itself makes him much keener on his studies. Self-studying challenges the person to approach the answers from different angles, find them by trial and error method, or research more by using other study sources such as the Internet. Moreover, it demands more energy and creativeness evoking one's instinctive talents and mental abilities. When someone studies on his own, he intellectually pushes himself to clarify the subject for himself, which is very good for the development of his general brain abilities. For example, back to bachelor education time, we had a tough course. Nobody, including me, could comprehend it. So I decided to study it on my own. I toiled for one week trying to solve the chapter's final questions without any help from others, and I made it. I learned a lot from my failures during many attempts that I made to find the correct answers, and I got the top grade in the class which was far better than others'.

Second, studying alone helps us control our study schedule and pace according to our personal learning capacities, and our optimum leaning time as well. Some people learn well early in the morning, while others do more efficiently during night. Moreover, some can continuously focus on the subject for more than one hour, while others need frequent breaks. Everybody is aware of his own study habits, so he can adapt his study plan to these habits, and get the most out of it. For instance, I have noticed that I am more concentrated on the study issue early in the morning, so I try to use these hours more. However, I do not think any teacher would accept to teach at six a.m.

In conclusion, I prefer to study alone because I think this way we study more actively, and we plan our time more effectively. Although learning from a teacher has its own benefits, I would like to depend on my own.