IELTS Topic: In the past, study only for the young, nowadays is changed

In the past people thought that education was only for young people. Now it is believed that education is for a person's whole life. Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In recent years, there has been a growing tendency that individuals tend to conduct post-qualification studies continuously. Therefore, many appear to believe that education is no longer the young's privilege. Personally speaking, this is true in today's society.

Admittedly, in the past, some given circumstances make people rarely carry out future learnings after the graduation. One possible circumstance is that there is relatively slower growth in both knowledge and technology fields half century ago. In this case, the academic skills which the younger job seekers have acquired from text is sufficiently and satisfactorily for them to achieve the general practices in the workplace. Secondly, in the past, the labor force was crucial for families who have suffered the economic hardship in many poverty regions. As a result, minors have to bear the household burdens such as making money for their families to acquire food, shelter and medicine soon after they have completed their studies at school.

However, in the modern society, conducting a series further studies after university is always a necessity. Firstly, it enhances juniors' survival ability in today's competitive labour market. This is because the new information and knowledge are frequently updated and released nowadays. In order to obtain a sense of security of their career perspectives, the academic knowledge bases should be checked and renewed regularly by an ongoing study. Moreover, undertaking a series of post-qualification learning and training develops the employees' confidence in their area of expertise. In other words, these types of learning progression strengthen their professional competence within their industry and makes their career prospect brighter in the future.

In conclusion, it is convincing that learning knowledge and skills continuously is often valuable and useful for individuals to retain their employment opportunities and firm their speciality in a long run.