GRE topic Some people believe that in order to be effective, political leaders

leaders must yield to public opinion

Some people believe that in order to be effective, political leaders must yield to public opinion and abandon principle for the sake of compromise. Others believe that the most essential quality of an effective leader is the ability to remain consistently committed to particular principles and objectives.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

This topic raises the controversial issue of whether the most effective characteristics of political leader. Does he have to obey public opinions or to seek for specific goals and objectives. Indisputably, Obeying or yielding to public opinion gives this politician more popularity among people.

Nevertheless, It may not going on the long-term goals that he seeks for. Thus, I generally disagree with the opinion that effective political leaders must yield to public opinions and would argue that he should have the ability to remain consistently to particular principles and objectives.

First of all, good and effective leader have clear principle and goals. I would like to point out that having clear goals and objectives make it easy for those leaders to reach. To illustrate let us look at the example of the president of any country, he should have clear goals like providing his people with good health insurance and good education. In this circumstance, obviously that these goals are consistent to principle of making progress to his country. If he succeeded to achieve this, it would be effective. Consequently, it is pretty obvious that political effective leader have to remain consistent with objectives and goals.

Furthermore, political leader who usually yields to public opinion is not good for all situation. Specially look at the area of court, if the judge is obeying and yielding to public opinions, he may have get a wrong judgment of some or particular case. Hence, all evidence above demonstrates that political leaders may yield to public opinions but not in all cases.

Admittedly, yielding to public opinions gives the political leader sense of flexibility and to hear from others. This is true when it comes to general public affairs. In addition to, this affair would be useful to take general decision. However, the above statement stated in this way for yielding to public opinions is a must for political leaders is not supported or related to specific situations.

In conclusion, Although an effective leader may yield to public opinions. But this is not a must and not in all situations. The good effective leader have to be consistent with principles and objectives.