Topic: Some people believe that printed books are no longer necessary in this digital era

Task 2 IELTS: "Some people believe that printed books are no longer necessary in this digital era as all writings are stored electrically. Others think that printed books still play an important role. Discuss both views and give your opinion."

IS THE EXISTENCE OF PRINTED BOOKS STILL NECESSARY?

These days human are gradually replacing their works by innovative technology, including the way how books are kept and stored. Some people argued that it is redundant to store data in old-styled paper books which can be substituted by electrical books or e-books for additional benefits, whereas some opposing views against this notion. Both perspectives contain valid arguments which will be elaborated in this essay.

On the one hand, people with the former idea believe that transferring knowledge and data from printed books to digital books can economically save substantial cost in book materials and printing. As a matter of fact, universities all around the world have to spend millions of dollars each year just only serving for printing study materials. This cost, obviously, can be deducted effectively by using electrical books in which the extra money can be used for other educational purposes. Another reason for this perspective is that paper books are arduous to store and update which may be influenced enormously by temperature and humidity conditions. Additionally, it is inevitable to say that human resources and logistics could also be another factors which have a huge impact on book depot whereas electrical books would not be affected by those factors.

On the other hand, opposing views claim that printed books still have an integral part of life because accessing to digital data is still limited as electrical devices are always essential for this type of book. In addition, it cannot be denied that the usage of electrical books may lead to tension and stress to people from old generation who have insufficient knowledge in this field. Moreover, digital books may be not favorable options when almost all people still prefer traditional books for their convenience in some cases.

In conclusion, both points of views contain valid arguments. To my mind, I strongly support the idea in which traditional paper books should be replaced by electrical books due to their advantages in cost and storage.