Topic: Some people suggest that there should be restrictions on a detailed description of crimes

crimes in the media

Topic: Some people suggest that there should be restrictions on a detailed description of crimes in the newspapers and on television. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, the question of whether or not officers should control the detailed description of crimes in the media has sparked a controversy. Although individuals have right to know what happened specifically, the details of offence should not be entirely public in the newspapers and on TV.

Several reasons can be cited to explain why the information of crimes should be limited on the Internet. First, if polices made the details of crimes public, offenders and would-be ones could become more subtle in committing crimes. In fact, by gaining unlimited access to detailed description of previous crimes, they are able to apprehend process to work cases of polices and offend more perfectly, which creates difficulties for polices to solve down the road. Another reason is by revealing the details of offence, these articles can trigger victim's and their family's torment, which implies the information should be limited in the media as a way to protect them. This means that journalists and reporters will contact victims so as to exploit information, which makes them irritated and wretched when remembering again.

The restrictions on a detailed description of crimes, particularly serious ones, on the Internet is reinforced by more supporting evidence below. Firstly, if whole information was revealed, this could shock many people, especially young children. For example, horrible sense of the blood and violent images will cause obsession to kids who are vulnerable in a long term, which implies this limitation is imperative. Secondly, in order to boost ratings, many newsrooms spare no expense in drawing public attention through currently hot crimes. This means that they can provide inaccurate information and exaggeration, which shows insensitivity and cause irritation among the masses.

In conclusion, the description of crimes in the media should be strictly controlled. By considering the pros and cons of this suggestion, people can make best decisions for themselves.