IELTS Topic: Predict a child to be a criminal in the future by studying his behavior

Some scientists believe that they can tell whether a child will grow up to be a criminal by studying his or her behavior at the age of three. What is your opinion?

Reports of criminal behavior appear in the papers or on television on a daily basis from the theft of a garden gnome to serial killers. In order to stop crime, some experts claim that they can predict whether a child would be an offender in the future by analyzing their behavior in their early childhood. In my opinion, this criminal detection method should not be utilized at this moment.

Behavior analysis of each child for determining potential criminal contributes nothing to crime prevention at present. For example, if a child has been proved to be a prospective criminal throughout complex analyzing, on the basis of respect for human right, the most ideal treatment currently is receiving education both in family and school on avoiding crime, however, which has already been provided to most children around the world for many years. Therefore, since children definitely cannot be arrested in their three years old and no biological method has been proved effective in reducing crime, this criminal detection method is useless.

Furthermore, rather than stop crime, this kind of criminal detection analysis could even increase crime rate in some cases. For example, parents could be anxious and pessimistic about the later lives of their children if the analysis results are negative, while children could have the sense of Inferiority or fear about the future from an early age since the criminal gene cannot be modified at this moment. Therefore, criminal behavior caused by the desperation to the future and jealousy of other eugenic children could be committed by all the family members.

In conclusion, regardless of the cost and accuracy of this criminal detection method, treatments to those 'potential' offenders can see little difference between universal propaganda and education work of crime prevention by the governments. In addition, negative analysis results would detrimentally affect the whole family and raise crime rate. Consequently, this method should not be utilized by government to stop crime until new biological interventions to reduce crime has been developed.