IELTS Topic: Should Smoking and tobacco products be banned?

Smoking is a major cause of serious illness and death throughout the world today. In the interest of public health, government should ban cigarettes and tobacco products. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include relevant example from your own knowledge or experience.

Over the issue about whether should government ban cigarettes and relevant tobacco products has now draws more attention in the whole worldwide. Although the economic benefits behind the tobacco industry contribute thousands of job opportunities, however, the ramification cannot be ignored.

In the following essay I will target on some of reasons why should governments ban the tobacco product.

One of the most rationale reasons for smoke-free laws is based on the fact that smoking is optional and breathing is not. Non-smokers are often passively been force to expose at a secondhand smoke environment especially child which could increase the incidence of heart disease, cancer and other respiratory disease .

Another factor is that tobacco is drug. Unlike heroin and marijuana which are prohibited by the majority of governments around the world to prevent substance abuse, while these two illicit drugs have legitimated applied in medical treatment, in contrast, products of tobacco make their fortune from public health. Besides, it is often government and society that cover the expense rather than smokers themselves. Thus, the interests and rights of the society should override those of the individual.

Furthermore, smoking runs a high risk of miscarriage for pregnant women. And there are plenty evidences indicate that nicotine addict mothers prone to have smaller babies, or worse, put babies in high risk of disease and death. Therefore, for the sake of our next generation, all the tobacco products should be banned.

In conclusion, a problem involve in such huge profit is unlikely to be solved in the short term. However, through addressing the seriousness of the problem that it causes and after the practically action by government will eventually evoke public awareness that tobacco products has nothing benefit for human body but harm.

Any suggestions are welcome.