IELTS TOPIC: Telecommuting ; GOOD OR BAD?

Topic:"Telecommuting" refers to workers doing their jobs from home for part of each week and communicating with their offices using computer technology. Telecommuting is growing in many countries and is expected to be common for most office workers in the coming decades. What are some of the advantages and disadvantages of telecommuting? What is your opinion?

The global work field has seen a great deal of radical changes in recent years, among which telecommuting, or "teleworking", stands out as the most remarkable brainchild of this Technology Age. This essay will zero in on the pluses and minuses of this issue.

On the plus side, telecommuting opens a new horizon for working spouses who have to share the household commitments, such as: picking up their children, preparing meals, etc. Also, this idea holds much appeal to those who have to take care of elderly or disabled relatives. Teleworking will allow them to simultaneously fulfill their duties at home as well as at work. Moreover, due to the shift in work place, teleworkers will be liberated from commuting. A huge amount of time, therefore, will be saved. As a consequence, the productivity will improve as people can shun the long tedious hours spent on travelling. This also offers a wider range of choices for both companies and employers. Thanks to telecommuting, international cooperations may hold online conferences and establish cross-continental connection, which will be a big asset in the business world.

However, there are still some drawbacks lurking behind. First of all, if teleworking was widely applied, the practice would egg people on working on contract rather than for a fixed institution. Thus, teleworkers are more inclined to change jobs. Furthermore, as online workers are not frequently present at the offices, they stand less chance of promotion than their on-site counterparts. This daunting prospect may dampen their original passion and enthusiasm for their works. Besides, lack of face-to-face interaction between colleagues may imply the diminished effectiveness of working, which obviously poses a threat to the whole company's performance.

To recapitulate, I am in favor of the view that despite its remaining disadvantages, telecommuting will prove effective once adopted. . Hopefully, telecommuting will gain more popularity in the next few years.

(Word count: 312)

Looking forward to your comments :)