"tourism does not benefit the poorest" - IELTS

Suspended for ignoring the new thread title rules.

Most of the world's poor live in countries where tourism is a growing industry. The issue is that tourism does not benefit the poorest. How can the income generated by tourism benefit the poor? And how can we ensure that tourism does not destroy traditional cultures and ways of life? What are your views?

Today's world is divided into developing and industrialized countries. Surprisingly, majority of the poor people live in the developing countries where tourism is one of the major sectors that contribute a lion's share of the economies of the countries. Unfortunately, the income from this sector does not benefit the poorest and this is especially true in countries like India and Indonesia where there are still a large proportion of people living in penury. Apart from that, many are worried that the traditions and cultures of a particular country will deteriorate due to the influx of tourists. Hence, effective solutions must be achieved in order to reduce the problems stated above.

First, the income from the tourism sector can be put to better use by the government of the respective countries by setting up small stalls for the people who are poor. Most locals are usually skilled in making souvenirs or delicacies that are well-known in their countries. Thus, the authorities can advise and encourage the people to produce and sell the items they make at the stalls provided. As a result, on one hand, the poor can earn a living and on the other hand, the tourists will have ample of choices for their shopping. Besides, when the citizens prepare local delicacies, the tourists are exposed to the countries' traditional cuisine and ergo, it will be preserved.

Next, the government of the countries can build a culture village. Tourists visiting this village will be shown to the way of life of the locals in that country. Not only that, they can also experience the traditions and cultures of the various races of people in the country. As what is being done in places like Delhi and Cambodia, traditional dance shows can also be held. This has proved to be successful in attracting customers, primarily tourists to watch and know more about the traditions of the country. To run the shows, local people who are industrious and willing to learn and work can be employed. To conclude, by introducing a culture village, both the country and the poor people will be able to benefit.

To put it in a nutshell, a portion of the income generated through the tourism field can be utilized to help the poor to earn a little profit. Not only will they be able to gain something for themselves, but they will also lend a helping hand to the government to protect and preserve the country's traditions, cultures and customs.