Tourism brings negative effects on local cultures like moral degradation and ecosystem destruction

Some people say that tourism has many negative effects on the countries that people travel to. How true is this statement? What can tourist do to reduce the harmful effect of tourism on local cultures and environments?

In the recent era, tourism has become a global industry where there are a lot of companies provide amount of access to travel abroad. However, this phenomenon has brought some negative effects on local cultures such as moral degradation and ecosystem destruction.

When foreign people visit some places they might face cultural interaction. However, local cultures may get more influence from all newcomers because they have closely interacted with them for long term. It should demolish the local tradition gradually and as the result, local society may lose their traditional identity.

Another problem is that tourism in many new tourist destination destroy local environment. Most of the holidaymakers only think about their vacation and how they can enjoy it. For instance, when some people go to a beach or a mountain they bring a lot of things including food and water but they leave the place without saving their rubbish. As the result, the more immense the tourists come, the more horrible trash produce. Hence, it destroys the local ecosystem dramatically. For example, there are serious environment problems in Komodo Island, Indonesia. It has been caused by the increase of the tourism. In my opinion, tourists should care more about local environment where they come. I have visited one of the cleanest beaches in Indonesia, it is Gatra beach. There, all of the visitors have to bring their rubbish when they leave .

In conclusion, people are easier to make a holiday over the sea but they have to be responsible and preserve to both local tradition and environment because those things are very unique world's civilization.