Being a tourist destination country has flaw effects like littering, pollution, prostitution, etc.

Question : Some people say that tourism has many negative effects on the countries that people travel to. How true is this statement? What can tourist do to reduce the harmful effects of tourism on local cultures and environments?

Many countries provide tourist destination to attract people to visit their country so that they can get much incomes. However, this condition also gives some negative effects on the country. I believe that many holiday makers will give bad influence to the places where they visited.

One of the negative impacts to environment is littering. When people visit a place, most of them will throw the garbage randomly without thinking of the effects that will happen. Another effect is increase pollution wether the emission or noise. With many visitors come, traffic congestion will happen and the pollution will increase so that will mark the environment. Exploring under water also will give bad influence to the coral reefs and other fishes in the sea.

The social culture in that country also will changes. Drugs, alcohol problems, prostitution, child labour will happen in a country which provide many tourism places. Most of foreigners come not only sightseeing but also enjoying the night lives which the place provides. It means the number of the places which provide prostitution and others will increase. If it is continue to happen it will reduce the traditional cultures and values of a country.

People need to stop to litter and follow the rule which government make. If they want to explore, they have to keep the environment to stay as they are. By creating alternative source like ecotourism, it can help to reduce the harmful effects.

In conclusion, become a tourist destination country has flaw effects to culture and environment like littering, pollution, prostitution and others. By following and respecting the rules also conserving environment can help the country to decrease the impacts.