Tourists Irresponsibility Killed The Local Wisdom

Some people say that tourism has many negative effects on the countries that people travel to. How true is this statement? what can tourists do reduce the harmful effects of tourism on local cultures and environments?

Give reason for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience.

Many individuals believe that tourist brings a lot of drawbacks in local society. The local society which is visited by foreign tourists will lost their identity and natural culture. This essay will examine the reasons why tourists give negative effects and discuss some possible solutions.

There are some negative factors resulting of tourism industry. Firstly, the tourism can changing of local wisdom, eventually producing a novel acculturation. In other side, some tourism is not ready to run tourist programs, so that, departure of tourist only offers a lot of problems from their side. Secondly, the number of tourist also causes social jealousy since some tourists show glamour life style such as dress, car, or sophisticated technology . Thirdly, the growth of tourism reduce green area, public space, and green agricultural land, increasing a number of tourist is followed by growth infrastructure like hotel, flat, parking area, restaurant etc. In addition, changing of traditional building into modern architecture happened in tourism like in Bali, Kerinci, or Bukit Tinggi. Event though, in some vocation, irresponsible traveler a write in tourism object like in temple or artifact, other problems they steal or buy an object but is not for sale.

In terms of solution, local people should to protect their culture and object, they must know what culture good to receive or no. For government should give strongly policy and support local inhabitants to proud of their identity. Regularly socialization is an important for local community such as how to increasing their language skill or understanding of cross culture. In the result, they are ready to receive guest from other countries. For traveler, they must keep their attitude, some destination has special rule. So they must know well and obey about information before running travel. It will be better if they learn cross culture also.

To conclude, although tourism brings many negative effects, it will recovered if both tourists and local people aware to prepare themselves. Tourist must know concerning regulation in their trip, also, local people who live in tourism must ready face to travel maker by big smile and government also should give clearly regulation.