Traditional newspapers are believed to hold the most vital position among news readers

TASK:

Although more and more people read news on the Internet, newspapers will remain the most important source of news.

Do you agree or disagree?

Despite the fact that online news is becoming increasingly popular, traditional newspapers are believed to hold the most vital postion among news readers. I strongly disagree with this statement due to a great deal of advantages online news offers.

On the one hand, newspapers has its own benefits to become a vital source of information. Firstly, newspapers is the most traditional way of updating news and it is suitable for everyone. For instance, eldery people are usually keen on reading newspapers because of their habits, or people living in rural areas might choose to read newspapers because of not having Internet access. Secondly, newspapers can be trusted as it is physcial, cannot be changed and traditional press only employ professional writers or editors.

On the other hand, It is undeniable that people nowadays have a preference for online news rather than newspaper. One of the key benefits is that online news service have the ability to make the articles interactive. Videos, images or voice records could be embedded alongside the text, which helps readers have a better visualization of the events narrated on the articles. Moreover, it is more accessible for people to read online news. Everyone having a portable devide like a smartphone could access to a substantial amount of news. Websites such as BBC are designed to be user-friendly, which means users could get notifications of newly-updated news and approach information from one place instead of switching between multiple websites to get news from different countries.

To recapitulate, I disagree with the view that newspapers is the only efficient way of collecting news and hold a strong belief that online news is equally essential as newspapers.