Traditional skills and lifestyles-ielts test 2

Please check my writing and help me improve it! I highly appreciate your help!

When a country develops its technologies, traditional skills and ways of life die out. It is pointless to try and keep them alive.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Nowadays, due to development of technologies, people's living standards are improving remarkably. Many new skills and lifestyles are gradually replacing the traditional ones which are not suitable to steps of a modern society. Some people think there is no point in keeping traditional and lifestyles alive. However, I do not completely agree with this idea.

In my country, when technologies were not developed quickly, people often repaired their household items and make their own clothes as a way of saving money. On special occasions such as Tet Holiday, every family were eager to prepare ingredients for wrapping Chung Cakes, one of traditional cake types to respect ancestors. In the past, there was also a trend of large families in which some generations lived together. Women were at home to do housework, cook meals, and look after children while men went out to work for earning money. However, it's very different nowadays. In a modern society, because of generation gaps, desire for privacy and freedom, the youth do not often live with their parents as before. Women tend to go out to work instead of being a housewife. People are so busy with their work and family responsibilities that they sometimes do not have enough time for themselves. It's very difficult for them to spend time doing something like repairing items or making their own clothes. They are likely to choose buy new items or clothes or processed food in shops or call some repairing services. In fact, many traditional skills and lifestyles are not kept because they are not suitable to a new society.

However, preserving some good traditional skills and lifestyles are very necessary because they reflect national culture and spiritual lives of many generations. For example, when Chung Cakes are wrapped on Tet holiday in my country, all family members have to give a hand from preparing glutinous rice, green bean, "dong" leaves , fresh pork to wrapping cakes and boiling them. When boiling Chung Cake, family members often stay together to listen historical legends or family stories in the old year and wait for a new year coming. It's very meaningful to show delicious food made by the whole family to their ancestors. Moreover, traditional skills will be very important for guaranteeing full lives of many people in handcraft villages. In my country, there are handcraft villages which are specialized to produce pottery or furniture, silk, or even food specialties. Although, technologies are widely applied in production, traditional skills in this area is very necessary for making up their products 'outstanding features .Finally, no matter how fast technologies change our society, a lifestyle with good traditional beliefs and values such as respecting teachers , parents and old people will remain forever . Many moral values in traditional lifestyles are still very useful to the next generations and help form their positive life attitudes.

In conclusion, it's pointless to keep unsuitable traditional skills and out-of -date lifestyle in a modern society. However, we need to preserve ones whose values are very important to national culture and ethnic history , community spirits and next generations' development.