<Ielts> traditonal skills should be protected?

Cherish traditional skills in China

When people confronted the situation that our traditional skills vanish gradually under the fast-developed technology, some people argued that the behavior of attempting to keep them alive is meaningless. Obviously, traditional skills, the treasure of human beings, cannot be substituted regardless of the acceleration of high-tech. In this essay, I will interpret the importance of traditional skills in terms of symbol and memory.

China contains 56 ethnic minorities and each of them has its unique specialty. People could easily immerse into their culture by master their traditional skills. Besides, different kinds of ancient living style are reflected in different traditional arts. Just take a glance at silk, produced in Hangzhou province. No one can help sighing that how skillful the ancient women are! In addition, the silk represent the status in ancient China. That is, women are playing a family-binding role while men are responsible for earning money by farming. Thanks to traditional skills handed down from one generation to another, our history avoids emptiness and black for lacking evidences.

People are yeaning for finding a sense of belonging in China because they emphasis on the family root greatly. By touching the traditional art, it seems youngster are touching history directly, and even taking with their ancestors to some extent. That's a special experience for generations, helping to keep the family relationship survive. All this things happened when the traditional skills accompany with us. To the old, what triggers them most is the memory form past which offered them courage to stay alive.

Consequently, the advent of new technology is not equal to the distinction of traditional skills. Traditional skills play a pivotal role in our history and memory; thus, we must spare no effect to conserve them no matter how hard it is. If government and people joint endeavor to protect them, I believe, the tradition skills would blossom rather than die.