Traffic and congestion - IELTS II: problem and solution

IELTS WRITING TASK II: problem and solution

Topic:

One problem faced by almost every large city is traffic congestion. What do you think the causes are? What solutions can you suggest?

Essay:

Traffic jams in metropolises have recently become major topic of concern. This essay will suggest that one of the prime culprits of this phenomenon is rush-hour traffic and submit arranging flexible working hours and implementing a car-sharing scheme as the most viable remedies.

Traffic congestion is apprarently conducive to the circulation during peak times. Due to the attributes of white-collar jobs, the majority of residents in cities and commuters from outskirts go down on the roads at certain times each day, thereby sparking off road obstructions. Accordingly, they have to sit in long traffic queues and inch along until passing over cities' center.Take Ho Chi Minh city for example. It is not a rare sight to catch a glimse of city's avenues being packed in like sardines in peak hours.

A possible mitigation strategy to curb this dilemma is implementing flexible working-hour policy. To put it simply, office workers can opt for the working schedule that suits them best. Alternating phase shifts will possibly conduce an appreciable shrinkage in the number of people on the roads at the same time by at least a quarter. Another feasible solution is settiing up a car-sharing scheme. Colleagues living in adjacent areas or neighbours working at nearby workplaces will group together and commute to work. By decreasing the mumber of one-person car on the roads, it can free up road capacity and make peak hours congestion-free.

To conclude, to mitigate the magnitude caused by rush-hour traffic, which is the main trigger to gridblocks, a flexible working schedule and a car-sharing scheme should be set up in a reasonable manner right away.