[IELTS TASK 2] Traffic congestion - the proposition of solution

Question:

The best way for governments to solve the problem of traffic congestion is providing free public transport in 24 hours per day, and seven days a week.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

free public transport service?

In recent times, traffic jam has been in the limelight and has aroused wide concern for the debatable effects associated with it. Although some people are of the fervent conviction that the governments should address this alarming trend by providing free public transport every time, I firmly disagree with this statement by virtue of the following justifications.

On one hand, public transportation systems play an imperative role in tackling the traffic congestion. First, investing public transport would decrease the total number of vehicles in a country. By way of illustration, a cutting-edge journal published by Florida State University revealed that the fewer number of private cars and motorbikes, the fewer locations witnessed traffic jam in urban areas. Second, this method will dip the number of traffic accidents leading to stuck in numerous locations. It is not until people experience traffic jam for hours on account of accidents caused by some drunk drivers that they gain full-scale awareness of the significance of supporting public transportation systems financially.

On the other hand, I am fierce in the assertion that the authorities should not provide this service for free every time. There is no disputing the fact that it takes an enormous fund to regulate as well as preserve this system and the congestion just locates in some specific places so that it can waste a lot of money. Hence, should governments provide this service for free, it might lose much money from citizens to reinvest this system. It is irrefutable that the unconsciousness of the general population with free items and services can exacerbate the problem. Damaged facilities in public transport like bus caused by people lacking consciousness lead to delay the transportation which affects to the public transport flow's quality.

In conclusion, it is possible to sense to convey the idea that governments should not provide free public transport service every time due to numerous aforementioned factors.

Please give me your advice and score prediction as well.