IELTS General Training; 'growing trend of increasing the retirement age'

General reading task 2:

Topic: In some countries older people are being encouraged to work longer and not to retire. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of working beyond retirement age.

Across the globe there is a growing trend of increasing the retirement age or working after retirement. People are cheered to work longer. Every coin has two sides ; Similarly, working longer has its own Pros and Cons. In this essay, I will be presenting my views on advantages and disadvantages on prolonged working.

There are positives of working longer not only to individual but to the society and country as well. Socially, with age comes experience and people are motivated to work longer so that their experience can be best utilized and may help in development of the country and its economy. On the personal front, people who work at an older age remains active and does not feel aloof at home. From economic point of view, people are less dependent on others and as they are working , they pay tax and contribute to country's economy instead of becoming a drain to the economic system.

However, there are many negatives of working longer. First of all, increasing retirement age may lead to more job requirements for youth and finally result in more unemployment for young generation which is a serious problem in almost every developing and under developed countries. Secondly, at a higher age people may face health issues and their degraded health may create serious problems for them .Last but not the least, at an higher age humans cant be as productive as youngsters and would contribute to a less efficient and less productive system which is not desirable in this competitive era.

In conclusion, Working longer has its own advantages like self-dependency , contribution in country's economy contrarily that may cause problems like unemployment for youths; less productive and inefficient system. I believe, citizens should consider both sides of the coin and then decide how long to work.