Ielts General Training Essay on reading for kids

shared book reading and parent-child relation

Many children heard lots of stories from their parents. However, some people think that parents is unnecessary to tell their children stories since children can read from various kinds of materials. In my opinion, telling stories by parents are benefit for children.

Reading stories together helps bonding the relationship between parents and children. Nowadays, working parents spend most of time for work rather than family. Their children may feel lonely and disconnect to their parents. Spending some time to read the story together could be an effective way to build the connection to each other. During the reading time, both parents and children share their viewpoint to each other which can develop strong relationship between them,

Furtherly, listening stories from parents helps children's brain development. By listening stories from parents, children are able to improve their memory as well as comprehension skills. It is helpful for them to improve academic performance.

However, it is undeniable that reading stories by children themselves can increasing their independence. By reading stories alone, children can develop their independent thinking skills. It makes them more dependent and confident. What is more, children can easier find their interest by reading stories on their own rather than listening stories from parents because children have freedom to choose what they are interest in.

In conclusion, whether told stories by parents or reading alone are benefit for children. I am quit believe that listening stories from parents are very important for children since children not only may develop induvial skills but also the parent-child relationship.